EFSUMB Newsletter 2015 – Issue 5

Following the Board of Delegates’ Meeting in Athens, Greece,
the results of the elections are as follows:

Executive Bureau 2015 – 2017

Odd Helge GiljaEFSUMB President
Prof Odd Helge Gilja, Norway


psPresident Elect
Prof Paul Sidhu, UK


cfdPast President
Prof Christoph F Dietrich, Germany


hsHonorary Secretary
Dr Hans-Rudolf Schwarzenbach, Switzerland


asHonorary Treasurer Prof Adrian Saftoiu, Romania


ECMUS Committee 2015 – 2017

gthProf Gail ter Haar, UK


ndjProf Nico de Jong, Netherlands


kvjDr Klaus-V Jenderka, Germany


ckAss Prof Christian Kollmann, Austria


pepsProf Pepe Salvesen, Norway


csDr Carla Serra, Italy



Educational and Professional Standards Committee (EPSC) 2015 -2017

rbProf Radu Badea, Romania


vcDr Vito Cantisani, Italy


silhouetteDr Wojciech Kosiak, Poland


hpDr Helmut Prosch, Austria


aserraProf Andreas Serra, Switzerland


Publications Committee 2015 – 2017

ceDr Caroline Ewertsen, Denmark


rfhDr Roald F Havre, Norway


ck-femDr Christiane Kaehler, Germany


mrDr Maija Radzina, Latvia (Case of the Month Editor)


asotDr Alexandros Sotiriadis, Greece (EFSUMB Newsletter Editor)


mbnAss Prof Michael Bachmann Nielsen, Denmark (EJU Editor)



A successful Congress in Athens …

Congratulations to the organisers of EUROSON 2015, Athens, Greece. Over 900 registered for this meeting coming from 54 countries for a programme featuring breast, OB/GYN, cerebrovascular, MSK urology, interventional and intestinal ultrasound, CEUS, anesthesiology, elastography and trauma in categorical courses and workshops. There were 144 posters (for which prizes were awarded) and 16 exhibitors, sponsoring 5 satellite symposia which all contributed to the success of the meeting. Students attended in large numbers on Sunday with a special programme organised by Hon Congress President Dr Pavlos Zoumpoulis. He was presented with an award from the Hellenic Society, by Congress President Prof Nikolas Papantoniou.


Dr Pavlos Zoumpoulis was presented with an award from the Hellenic Society, by Congress President Prof Nikolas Papantoniou (right).

At the Opening Ceremony Christoph F Dietrich handed over the President’s medal to Odd Helge Gilja and talked of the great friendships that are made in the Executive Bureau. He paid tribute to Past President Fabio Piscaglia for his enormous contribution to EFSUMB. The EFSUMB General Secretary, Lynne Rudd was delighted to receive flowers from the outgoing President. His energy and drive was the subject of many a comment during the Congress!

Prof Dietrich announced the winner of the new award from EFSUMB for the best published paper (details on the EFSUMB website) to Monica Lupsor Platon, Romania, entitled ‘Liver Stiffness Is Influenced by a Standardized Meal in Patients with Chronic Hepatitis C Virus at Different Stages of Fibrotic Evolution’ published in AASLD - Hepatology 2013.


Christoph F Dietrich handed over the President’s medal to Odd Helge Gilja

The Young Investigator Session at EUROSON 2015 proved to be an exciting session with contestants from 8 countries nominated by their National Society. The international judges awarded the prize jointly to Gibran Yusuf, UK, for his presentation on ‘Multi-Parametric Ultrasonography of Testicular Haematomas: Features on Grey Scale, Colour Doppler, Contrast Enhanced Sonography and Strain Elastography’ and Rune Wilkens, Denmark, for ‘Intestinal perfusion measurements with CEUS and dynamic contrast enhanced MR enterography: A comparison study.’ The abstracts and CVs of the winners will be in the first issue of the EFSUMB Newsletter 2016.



Odd Helge Gilja gave this first award to Jan Tuma, Switzerland

At the Closing Ceremony a certificate was presented to Tae Hee Kim, South Korea, winner of the Walter-Krienitz-Wissenschaftspreis, for the best oncological abstract submitted to the congress entitled ‘Diagnostic performance of Ultrasound and MRI for the evaluation of axillary lymph node after neoadjuvant chemotherapy in breast cancer patient’.

The EFSUMB Board of Delegates created a new category of Fellow of EFSUMB to honour members who have contributed substantially over a prolonged period to promote the advancement or wider application of ultrasound. It was with pleasure that Odd Helge Gilja gave this first award to Jan Tuma, Switzerland, summarizing his contribution to the EFSUMB Education Committee (EPSC) as Chairman and Committee member, contributor to the EFSUMB Course Book and co editor of the ECB Student Edition, and organizer of Euroson Schools and Courses in Europe and Africa.

One Congress draws to a successful conclusion and another is only 11 months away.
See you in Leipzig.

Translate »